Mod Concept - Political Issues

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you are agreeing to our Cookie Policy.

• Mod Concept - Political Issues

I'm a beginner at modding. Everything I've learned is self taught so I only understand how to edit/alter existing conditions within the game. But I do have an idea that I'd love some input from more experienced modders.

My idea is that there are separate meetings within the political realm of the game. Instead of only gathering to vote on positions. They gather to vote on topics of debate. Which can be randomized in general. Or perhaps a citizen can make a request at the assembly hall.

Some examples would be say:
      Church Taxes - This would differ from the church tithe but more similarly to sales taxes except only referring to buildings of worship. The council will gather to decide if the churches should be taxed and by how much. The most popular vote would set the condition. If it was set to 10% then all churches would lose 10% of all forms of income relating to the building. Donations, artifact sales, etc and that would be given to the city treasury.

Overturn Sentence:
      Maybe someone's spouse was thrown in the dungeon so they request/demand that their lover is freed or something. - The council would meet and decide whether the court's ruling was fair enough as it is. To shorten the sentence. Or overrule it altogether and set them free.

I know the scripts are rather complicated already. But this would be quite similar to office voting and court proceedings. It'd be a triggered event during a specific time of day (to avoid interfering with other events relating to the assembly hall) and it would only be one issue per day at max so that each session would be pretty short.

That's the basic idea. Would love to hear some input.